The Boys - Self-Titled (1977) (Digi-Pak, Reissue 2006)

Автор: A.I. от 26 июня 2014, посмотрело: 790

Категория: punk

The Boys - Self-Titled (1977) (Digi-Pak, Reissue 2006)Исполнитель: The Boys
Альбом: The Boys (Digi-Pak, Reissue 2006)
Год: 1977
Страна: UK (London, England)
Стиль: Punk Rock
Битрейт: 320 kbps CBR, Lame 3.97
Длительность: 00:41:22
Издатель: Captain Oi! Records
Размер: 95.87 МБ
1. Sick On You – 1:53
2. I Call Your Name (written by – Lennon/McCartney) – 2:11
3. Tumble With Me – 1:57
4. Tonight – 1:26
5. I Don't Care – 2:12
6. Soda Pressing – 2:34
7. No Money – 1:49
8. First Time – 2:22
9. Box Number – 2:36
10. Kiss Like A Nun – 2:06
11. Cop Cars – 2:03
12. Keep Running – 1:47
13. Tenement Kids – 21:36
14. Living In The City – 2:11
15. BONUS TRACKS I Don't Care (Single Version) – 2:35
16. Soda Pressing (Single Pressing) – 2:49
17. Watcha Gonna Do – 1:58
18. Turning Grey – 2:17
19. First Time (Long Version) – 2:58


This digi-pak revamp of The Boys seminal debut LP comes complete five bonus tracks including the first time on CD versions of the bands debut 45 “I Don’t Care” and “Soda Pressing”. Band historian Steve Metcalfe has written a brand new sleeve note plus a track by track guide to the origins of each song. The full length version of the brilliant “First Time” is also a much valued addition to this essential album.

The Boys - Self-Titled (1977) (Digi-Pak, Reissue 2006)Along with the Sex Pistols, Clash and the Damned, The Boys were part of the first wave of the mid-1970’s UK punk explosion. Armed with an arsenal of killer Steel/Dangerfield songs The Boys became the first UK punk band to sign an album deal in January 1977. Highly regarded by the music press and their contemporaries, their well-crafted songs, together with Steel and Dangerfield’s layered harmonies, led to them being described as ‘The Beatles of Punk’.

As Last FM puts it: “The Boys made arguably one of the best LPs of the 70s with their self-titled first album and provided the template for superior Pop Punk before even the Buzzcocks had got out of first gear”.

Matt Dangerfield had converted his rented basement flat in Maida Vale into a home recording studio. 47A Warrington Crescent became extremely important in the development of the UK punk scene in the mid seventies. Mick Jones, Tony James, Brian James, Rat Scabies, Gene October, Sid Vicious and Billy Idol were regular visitors. Amongst others, the Sex Pistols, The Damned, London SS, The Clash, Chelsea, Generation X and of course, The Boys, made their first recordings there. In this hotbed of creativity Steel and Dangerfield quickly struck up a prolific songwriting partnership.

The Boys were born in September 1975 when singer/guitarist Matt Dangerfield left Mick Jones and Tony James’s fledgling punk band London SS to form a new band with ex-Hollywood Brats songwriter/keyboard player Casino Steel. Dangerfield’s art college friend, guitarist Honest John Plain, was soon recruited. The following year they held auditions for the bass and drum roles with Kid Reid and Jack Black completing the line-up.

The Boys made their debut at London’s Hope and Anchor Pub in September 1976. Mick Jones, Billy Idol, Joe Strummer, Tony James and Gene October were all present and the pub was packed for The Boys performance. They became the first punk band to sign an album deal when they were snapped up by NEMS in January 1977.

Having released two albums and three singles with NEMS, they moved to Safari in 1979 where two further albums and five more singles followed. Throughout their career The Boys always had more success overseas than in their home country.

Every Christmas they rearranged the ‘B’ and the ‘Y’ and became The Yobs, releasing the classic “The Yobs Christmas Album” in 1980.

Over the last three decades The Boys’ songs have been covered by countless bands, with substantial sales from Argentina to Germany and Japan.

Matt Dangerfield (guitar, vocals)
Kid Reid (bass, vocals)
Honest John Plain (guitar, vocals)
Casino Steel (Piano, vocals)
Jack Black (drums)

О песне I Call Your Name (written by – Lennon/McCartney) -


Предыдущие новости:
Теги: Punk Rock
Уважаемый посетитель, Вы зашли на сайт как незарегистрированный пользователь.
Мы рекомендуем Вам зарегистрироваться либо войти на сайт под своим именем.
  • Публикаций: 4086
  • Комментариев: 2237
  • ICQ:
26 июня 2014 20:09


  • Группа: Релизеры
  • Регистрация: 22.02.2009
  • Статус: Пользователь offline
На альбоме в основном напористые треки, но есть так же исполненные с чувством, но неизменно с юношеской веселостью.

Их творчество повлияло на ранний Green Day, ну и еще много на кого, а The Briefs вообще очень схоже играют (особенно на двух первых альбомах).

Обложка в стиле поп-арт на любителя.


Посетители, находящиеся в группе Гости, не могут оставлять комментарии к данной публикации.